Honorary Fellowship of the Institute


  The Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, which is India's foremost research institution, enters its centenary year on 27th May 2008. In making the hundredth year of its existence, the Council of the Institute had recently decided to confer the Honorary Fellowship of the Institute on Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, former President of India, Mr. Ratan N Tata, Chairman of Tata Sons, Dr. M.S. Swaminathan, the architect of the Green Revolution in the country and Prof. R Narasimha, noted aerospace scientist. The Honorary Fellowship of the Institute is confered on eminent scholars in recognition of their distinguished contributions to knowledge in the subjects in which the Institute is interested or on persons who have rendered eminent service to the Institute or on persons who have made a noteworthy and lasting contribution to the cause of science and industry in India.

  In the 100 years of existence of the Institute, only 25 persons have been so honoured. Among those confered the Honorary Fellowship of IISc are Jawaharlal Nehru, M. Visvesvaraya, C.V. Raman, J.R.D. Tata, A.L. Mudaliar, Vikram Sarabhai, S. Dhawan, Indira Gandhi, G.N. Ramachandran, Raja Ramanna, M.G.K. Menon, A. Ramachandran and C.N.R. Rao.