Latest news

  • DBT National Bioscience Award for Career Development (NBACD)-2014
    • Prof. Patrick D'Silva (BC)
    • Prof. Bikramajit Basu (MRC)

  • Indian National Academy of Engg (INAE) Fellows:
    • Prof. L Sunil Chandran (CSA)
    • Prof. Anindya Deb (CPDM)
    • Prof. Bharadwaj Amrutur (ECE)
    • Prof. Bikramjit Basu (MRC)
    • Prof. D D Sarma (SSCU)

  • INAE Young Engineer Award:
    • Prof. Suryasarathi Bose (Materials Engineering)
    • Prof. Gurunath Gurrala (EE)

  • 2015 IEEE Electron Devices Society Early Career Award:
    • Prof. Mayank Shrivastava (DESE), the first Indian scientist/academician to receive this award!

  • Prof B. Gopal has been awarded the prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Biological Sciences, 2015.

  • J. Phys. Chem. B has brought out a special issue in honour of Prof. Biman Bagchi. This Biman Bagchi Festschirft issue is available in the journal website and has contributions from many scientists (Sep 6, 2015)

  • Prof. Dipshikha Chakravortty,MCB and Prof. Sathees Raghavan,BC received the "NASI-Reliance Industries Platinum Jubilee Award 2015".
    Prof. Sathees Chukkurumbal Raghavan

  • Obituary -- IISc regrets to announce the passing away of Prof. S.V. Subramanyam, retired Professor of Physics on Aug.1, 2015. He was a Professor in the Department of Physics

  • NEW! Exclusive IISc Alumni Networking & Engagement Portal: Register and connect with fellow alumni & your alma mater. Sign up now at (June 26, 2015)

  • IISc's supercomputer SahasraT adds to Indian computing might (May 22, 2015)

  • Prof. C N R Rao gets Japan's highest civilian award - D H news (June 19, 2015)
    Prof. C.N.R. Rao

  • Prof. Raghavendra Gadagkar(CES) conferred the Cross of Order of the Merit, highest civilian award of Germany (July 29, 2015)

  • Prof. Dipshikha Chakravortty (MCBL) and Prof. Sathees Raghavan (BC) are recipients of the prestigious “DAE SRC Outstanding Investigator Award” (July 10, 2015)
    Prof. Sathees Chukkurumbal Raghavan

  • “Seashell” not just beautiful also a good structure- a teamwork lead by Prof. K. Chattopadhyay(Mat. Eng.), his colleagues at IISc and Prof. Ajayan of Rice University, extensively covered in Science media including Scientific America (May 23, 2015)

  • Prof. Ashok Raichur(Mat. Eng.) has been elected as Fellow, Royal Society of Chemistry (June 3, 2015)

  • KVPY Fellowships - application process starts from July 2015 (May 20, 2015)

  • Recording of Research Seminars/Invited Lectures at IISc