Program schedule for:

December 13, 2008 (Saturday)
 Date  Time  Program  Speakers
 13/12/08  0900  Commencement
 of Registration of
 13/12/08  0915 - 0945 Inauguration of Alumni Events
 Release of the Book Memoirs authored by Professor G. Padmanaban, Former Director, IISc
 13/12/08  0945 - 1300 Alumni Events
 13/12/08  1500 - 1700 Inauguration
 and Welcome
Professor N. Balakrishnan, Conference Chair (Welcome Address)
Professor P. Balaram, Director, IISc
Dr. K. Kasturirangan, Chairman, IISc Council
Dr. J. J. Irani, Director, Tata Sons
Release of two Books by Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, former President of India
                             . Secret Lives
                             . IISc: A Botanist's Delight
Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam (Inaugural Address)
Professor C.N.R. Rao, National Research Professor (Presidential Address)
Professor M.L. Munjal, Conference Co-Chair (Vote of Thanks)
 13/12/08  1800 - 1930 Hindustani Santoor
 Recital by Pandit
 Shivkumar Sharma

December 14, 2008 (Sunday)
 Date  Time  Program  Speaker
 14/12/08  0900 - 1100  Conference Keynote Talks
 Session Chair: Professor Pankaj Chandra,
 Director, Indian Institute of Management, Bangalore
 Mr. S Ramadorai
 Session Chair: Dr. Srikumar Banerjee,
 Director, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai
 Professor Subra Suresh
 14/12/08  1100 - 1700 IISc Showcase
 14/12/08  1130 - 1300  Panel Session 1
 Professor Goverdhan Mehta
 India - A Knowledge Power:
 Opportunities and Challenges
Dr. Vijay Chandru
Professor Ashok Jhunjhunwala
Dr. Gretchen Kalonji
Dr. Manju Sharma
Professor K R Sreenivasan
Dr. K Toyama
 14/12/08  1415 - 1715
Interdisciplinary Workshops
 (in parallel)
Micro and Nano Technologies
Energy and Materials
Integrative Biology
Earth and Climate Sciences
Intelligent Transportation
Complex Systems and Networks
Sustainable Technologies and
Technology Outreach
 14/12/08  1800 - 1930 Public Lecture
 Session Chair: Professor R. Narasimha,
 Former Director, NAL and NIAS
 Professor Martin Rees
 Session Chair: Professor M.S. Ananth,
 Director, IIT Madras
 Mr. Nandan Nilekani
   2030 - 2200  Cultural Programme
 IISc Music Club

December 15, 2008 (Monday)
 Session Co-Sponsored by the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research, New Delhi
 Date  Time  Program  Speaker
 15/12/08  0900 - 1100 Conference Keynote Talks
 Session Chair: Professor Obaid Siddiqi,
 Distinguished Professor,
 National Centre for Biological Sciences, Bangalore
 Professor Sydney Brenner
 Session Chair: Dr. U.R. Rao,
 Former Chairman, Indian Space Research Organisation
 Professor Arcot Ramachandran
 15/12/08  1100 - 1700 IISc Showcase
 15/12/08  1130 - 1300  Panel Session 2
 Professor J. Srinivasan
 Climate Change: An Indian perspective
Professor Dilip Ahuja
Professor Timothy Fridtjof Flannery
Professor Madhav Gadgil
Ms. Sunita Narain
Professor Anand Patwardhan
Mr. Shyam Saran
 15/12/08  1415 - 1715
Divisional Workshops
 (in parallel)
Biological Sciences
Chemical Sciences
Electrical Sciences
Mechanical Sciences
Mathematical & Physical Sciences
 15/12/08  1800 - 1900 Public Lecture
 Session Chair: Professor H.P. Khincha,
 Vice Chancellor, Visveswaraya Technological University
 Dr. Sam Pitroda
 15/12/08  1930 - 2100 Bharatanatyam Dance Recital
 by Ms. Malavika Sarukkai

December 16, 2008 (Tuesday)
 Date  Time  Program  Speaker
 16/12/08  0900 - 1100 Conference Keynote Talks
 Session Chair: Professor G. Padmanaban,
                            Former Director, IISc
 Dr. Kiran Mazumdar Shaw
 Session Chair: Dr. Kris Gopalakrishnan,
 CEO and MD, Infosys Technologies
 Professor Eric Maskin
 16/12/08  1100 - 1700 IISc Showcase
 16/12/08  1130 - 1300  Panel Session 3
Professor N. Balakrishnan
 Rediscovering IISc for the 21st Century
Dr. D Balasubramanian
Dr. M K Bhan
Professor S. K. Brahmachari
Dr. R. Chidambaram
Sri M. Natarajan
Professor T. Ramasami
Professor Raj Reddy
Professor S. Thorat
 16/12/08  1415 - 1545 IISc: Past, Present, and Future

Coordinators: Professor M.L. Munjal
 and Professor S. Chandrasekaran
 Professor C.N.R. Rao
 Professor G. Padmanaban
 Professor Goverdhan Mehta
 Professor A. Sreedharan
 Professor M. Vijayan
 Professor P. Balaram
 Professor N. Balakrishnan
 16/12/08  1545 - 1630 Conference Valedictory