About IISc


In its ten decades of existence, the Institute produced many alumni who have set new directions to science and engineering research in the country. The Institute also was privileged to confer Honorary Fellowships to many eminent personalities, who made lasting contributions to the cause of science and technology in the broader perspective.

Here is a sampler of some of these personalities. Clicking on an image will enlarge it in a new window.

J N Tata


Krishnaraja Wodeyar

Maharaja of Mysore

Morris W Travers

Director, 1909-1914

A G Bourne

Director, 1915-1921

M O Forster

Director, 1922-1933

H J Bhabha

Honorary Fellow, 1932

C V Raman

Director, 1933-1937

J C Ghosh

Director, 1939-1948

M S Thacker

Director, 1949-1955

S Bhagvantam

Director, 1957-1962

Jawaharlal Nehru

Honorary Fellow, 1959

M Vishvesvaraya

Honorary Fellow, 1959

S Dhawan

Director, 1962-1981

Vikram Sarabhai

Honorary Fellow, 1968

J R D Tata

Honorary Fellow, 1968

D K Banerjee

Director, 1971-1972

S Ramaseshan

Director, 1981-1984

C N R Rao

Director, 1984-1994

G Padmanaban

Director, 1994-1998

G Mehta

Director, 1998-2005

P Balaram

Director, 2005-2014